Local Administration

Here are some of the local administration bodies in Tamil Nadu:

Municipal Corporations: There are a total of ten municipal corporations in Tamil Nadu, which are Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai, Trichy, Salem, Tirunelveli, Tiruppur, Erode, Thoothukudi, and Thanjavur.

Municipalities: There are 125 municipalities in Tamil Nadu, which are responsible for providing basic services like water supply, garbage collection, and street lighting.

Panchayat Unions: Tamil Nadu has 385 panchayat unions, which are responsible for the development of rural areas. These unions are made up of a group of villages and are headed by an elected chairperson.

Village Panchayats: There are 12,618 village panchayats in Tamil Nadu, which are responsible for the development and administration of villages. They are headed by a village president or sarpanch.

District Collectors: The district collector is the highest administrative officer in a district and is responsible for the overall development and administration of the district. There are 38 districts in Tamil Nadu.

Taluk Offices: The taluk office is responsible for the administration of a taluk, which is a subdivision of a district. There are a total of 226 taluks in Tamil Nadu.

Corporation Zones: The municipal corporations are divided into different zones for better administration. For example, Chennai Corporation has 15 zones.

  • Chennai Corporation : The Chennai Corporation is the civic body that governs the city of Chennai, India.