Namakkal District

Namakkal district, headquartered at Namakkal is one of the 30 administrative districts of Tamil Nadu.

Namakkal District is a newly created district from Salem and functioning with effect from 1-1-1997.It consists of 4 Taluks , namely Namakkal, Rasipuram, Tiruchengode and Paramathi-velur.

The distict is bounded on the North by Salem district, on the east by Attur taluk of Salem district, Perambalur and Tiruchirapalli district, on the South by Karur district and on the west by Erode distict. The administrative headquarters of this district is located at Namakkal.

The Rock Fort in Namakkal is a special feature of the Town. The Fort covers an area of one and half acres of flat surface and is accessible from South-West by a flight of narrow steps.

Web :