Perambalur District

Perambalur district is a centrally located inland district of Tamilnadu, spread over 3690.07 km², which was trifurcated from the erstwhile composite Tiruchirappalli district and was formed on 1 November 1995.

It is bounded on the North by Cuddalore and Salem Districts, South by Tiruchirappalli and Thanjavur, East by Thanjavur District, West by Tiruchirappalli and Salem Districts.

The district for administrative purpose has been divided into six Taluks (Perambalur, Kunnam, Veppanthattai, Ariyalur, Sendurai and Jayankondam) which is further sub-divided into ten blocks viz. Perambalur, Veppanthattai, Veppur, Alathur, Ariyalur, Thirumanur, Sendurai, Jayankondam, Andimadam and T.Palur) comprising of 345 Villages, 322 Village Panchayats and nine Town Panchayats.

Web :