Viluppuram District

Viluppuram (also Villupuram and Vizhupuram) came into existence on 30 September 1993 when it was created out of South Arcot district.

The district occupies an area of 7217 kmĀ². Viluppuram district has 8 taluks namely Viluppuram, Gingee, Dindivanam, Vanur, Thirukoilur, Ulundurpet, Sankarapuram and Kallakurichi.

The region has a variety of historical tourist attractions many of which are more than 100 years old. The district has temples, mosques and churches which are very old and famous. The cultural township of Auroville is in the district.

Web :