Virudhunagar District

Virudhunagar is the district headquarters.It had a population of 1,751,301 as of 2001. Virudhunagar District is famous for oil and cotton industry.

It covers an area of 4232 sq. km. and is divided into 8 taluks, namely Aruppukkottai, Kariapatti, Rajapalayam, Sattur, Sivakasi, Srivilliputur, Tiruchuli and Virudhunagar.

Virudhunagar District is landlocked on all sides with no direct access to the sea. It is bound on the north by Madurai, on the north-east by Sivaganga, on the east by Ramanathapuram and on the south by Tirunelveli and Tuticorin districts.

The district is bounded by Tirunelveli District to the southwest, Kerala state to the west, and Theni District to the northwest. Sivakasi, 20 km from Virudhunagar, is famous for its fireworks and printing presses.

Web :